Posted in Belief, Christianity, Church, Inspiration, Lyrics, Music, Philosophy, Tenth Avenue North, Words

Inspiration

So, in my last posting I mentioned that I would return to ‘Tenth Avenue North’, my favourite band. For anyone who is interested in finding out more for yourself, their website is http://www.tenthavenuenorth.com. Fancy that!

4

It’s a Christian band headed up by a frankly amazing guy called Mike Donehey. Mike is not only a gifted singer/songwriter, he is also the most inspired lyricist. On the webpage he adds short video journals in which he does what I am maybe attempting to do on here; sharing and exploring ideas (except that he does it superbly!) His videos have caused me to do more real, deep thinking about my life and beliefs than anything has ever done before. He’s honest and brave in what he addresses and what he wishes to say. He is a properly gifted communicator.

His story of how he came to do what he does is fascinating.

I particularly love the fact that he recognises the need to ensure that he does not become the star of the show, something which many well-known ‘ministers’ slowly lose sight of!

I have come to realise that music is key to my faith. I very much miss being involved in the musical part of worship. I need to find a choir because I miss it SO very much. When I cannot access the emotional, when I cannot access the heart of my faith or the depths of my soul, music will always get me there!

I am a musician, or maybe I should really say that I was, because I don’t get much chance anymore. I used to love to tinkle away on the piano (as long as no one else was listening), but mostly I have often contacted my soul through song.

Being raised in The Salvation Army from birth means that I cannot remember a time in my life when I didn’t sing. In fact, one of my earliest memories is of sitting astride my mother’s lap, at the back of the army hall, with my cheek nestled against the serge of her tunic listening to the thoracic vibrations of her singing. The sounds rising from deep within her soul. So comforting.

I am aware that there is an enormous amount of singing in our house…and car. Our boys have sung since they could babble, and we to them. We listen to lots of music but we often listen (and sing along with) Tenth Avenue North in the car. I delight in hearing my 4 and 7 year old singing (as they did when they were 2 and 4) “Oh, Father won’t you forgive them, they don’t know what they are doing!” at full volume. “This is where the healing begins. When you come to where you’re broken within, the light meets the dark!”…and so on.

It’s a great coincidence that I had already planned on blogging about this topic when a childhood friend wrote a comment yesterday reminding me of a song that I had sung with love and feeling as a child. I reflected on the words and listened to it being sung on YouTube and the tears rolled. I realised, as I have done of late, that singing such songs is vitally important to the Christian walk. There is method in the teaching of song to children – the lyrics stick. Through them we learn to count, to rhyme, the alphabet….to support our journey in faith.

In tough times I automatically find myself singing myself through. In addition to Tenth Avenue North, there have been so many songs that sustained me during the last year – “Let the morning bring word of your unfailing”, “You’ve loved me back into your arms, time and time again”, “Steal away to Jesus”…so many, I cannot even begin…

Some of the amazing words that Mike has written are; “Sparks will fly as grace collides with the dark inside of us; so please don’t fight this coming ride. Let his blood come cover us”

“I’ll be by your side whenever you fall, in the dead of night, whenever you call me, please don’t fight these hands that are holding you.”

“I want to know who you are, even if you’re falling apart. Reach in and touch your scars and all the shame you’ve kept in your heart. ‘Cause it’s not enough just to say that you’re ok. I need your hurt, I need your pain, it’s not love any other way.”

“We think that pain’s owed apologies and then it will stop. Truth be told, it doesn’t matter if they’re sorry or not. Freedom comes when we surrender to the sound of mercy and your grace, Father, send your angels down.”

I could go on and on and on….

The childhood song that my friend reminded me of this week was one that I played in the car with my children yesterday. My eldest son listened and at the end said, “Mumma will you teach me that song please?”

I will teach him that song! I hope that he has all of the lyrics that we share together etched across his heart and that they will sustain him as he walks through this turbulent life.

Never underestimate the power of music.

“Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent”
― Victor Hugo

 

 

Author:

Wife, mother, teacher, skeptic who writes musings on it all. No answers, only questions.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. 🙂

    Music has a way of getting words and ideas stuck in your head – use it wisely, right?

    How about this blast from the past which I re-encountered this week. I was chatting to an elderly lady in our congregation last Sunday and we both manged a duet of: Sixty-six books in God’s Holy Word, telling the stories of Jesus my Lord…
    (It’s been my party piece on several occassions)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Marcus, use it wisely! Especially given what is generally consumed these days lyrically.
      The only time my pupils think I’m epic is when I ‘perform’ 66 books for them in an RE lesson! ☺️ We were given great bedrock from great people!

      Like

  2. Hi Rachel,

    I loved reading this, and am so glad that you write this.

    You have always though deeply and definitely always sung beautifully. I hope that you manage to continue to find God through the powerful medium of music.

    Best wishes from your old mate x

    Liked by 1 person

Please tell me your thoughts!